Three named to AFCA Division III All-America Team

Complete AFCA Release

Waco, Texas-The American Football Coaches Association has announced the 2016 Division III All-America Teams. The teams are exclusively selected by coaches. 

Mount Union senior offensive lineman Brooks Jenkins (Hilton Head, S.C./Hilton Head) has been named to the first team.

Jenkins was this year's Ken Wable Award winner as the top lineman in the OAC. He was part of a unit that led the nation in first downs and was among national leaders in scoring offense, rushing offense and total offense as the Purple Raiders advanced to the national semifinals for a 22nd straight season.

John Carroll senior Jovon Dawson (Cleveland, Ohio/Benedictine) also earned first team honors. 

Dawson was the recipient of the 2016 Lee J. Tressel Award as the top Defensive Back in the Conference. Dawson amassed 77 tackles (including 47 solo) in 14 games this season counting the regular season and postseason. Of his tackle total, 14.0 were for losses of 45 yards. He also recorded one caused fumble and one recovered fumble.

He was part of a JCU defense that ends the year ranked third in the nation in total defense (218 yards allowed per game) and fourth in scoring defense in Division III (12.6 points allowed per game)

Heidelberg junior defensive lineman Austin Crow (Westerville / Big Walnut) was named to the second team.

Crow was this year's Paul Hoernermann Award winner as the Conference's top defensive lineman. He led the nation in tackles for loss per game, averaging 2.9 per contest. His 28.5 TFLs totaled 115 yards of loss for opponents. In all, Crow led the Student Princes with 81 tackles and 10.5 sacks.

View: Mobile | Desktop